testimony

you stood

lacing the void with your scent;
until you were more scent than you

your words a dummy trail –
crumbs, leading to an empty room
where the sound of each syllable in my ear is more real than your fingers

this space, so full of un-you,
how does it live so brightly without even one particle of light?

you are far from here, and so am I;
a story frozen in pictures.

I stand, naked
asking the moon the way
(Yemaja!)
but moons are made of longing.

I want to be led down a river
where your standing is my swimming, perfectly navigated
and our meeting is the effortless death of our dreaming

I want to crash through the floor in a freefall of expansion
singing the tune of joyful beggars and saying grace to our crackings open

I want to gaze in the face of the lion, kissing and rubbing her ears,
knowing fierce is will and will is juice and juice is firing the pistons of my shouts of joy

I want to ooze into your cradle
where our entwining is a sacrifice on the alter of consciousness
and surrendered breathlessly to the movement of tides,
where our sweat is a baptism
and our skin teaches us where we don’t end.

you pull my cord,
and I sink into the slow knowing that we are both here always,
following trails of words and doings and silences
incapable of moving away from this place
where god is reclining,
waiting patiently for us to notice our perfection.

8 Comments

Filed under life, poetry, writing

8 responses to “testimony

  1. i don’t think i can comment on this one. far too beautiful and full.

  2. I want to ooze into your cradle
    where our entwining is a sacrifice on the alter of consciousness
    and surrendered breathlessly to the movement of tides,
    superb lines:)

  3. Poetry that pulls you in from the first word and carries you right through to the last needs to be published somewhere where the poet can be rewarded for her effort. This one is worth at least $347 😉
    Reminded me of Whitman. I love Whitman.
    Beautiful work.

  4. susan thacker

    Most exquisite writing, Lisa. Share with the world.

  5. Yeah, I really liked this, from the ‘un-you’ to the thought of ‘god reclining’ .

    Thoughtfully written.

  6. Linda

    Lisa,
    Your poetry is exquisite. Thank you for sharing yourself so completely.
    Enjoy this day..

  7. Oh my, this is beautiful, this is special. The wordplay is music to the ears, as I read the poem aloud. The ‘un-you’ line lingers. Thank you. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

