heartbeat repeat

Is anything happening in there?
have I dulled you to nothing or is a lid still tight?
thump, thump;  thump, thump
gives me no notes to make a song with.

you keep turning in the direction of the nearest sun
which right now came yesterday and left
leaving my skin burned and eyes tired
wanting empty dark

cold again, putting back pieces
I would turn about face forward
were I willing of the loss

but same-old uneasy today has nothing on you
all that love and pain
awake fresh
waving your flag
like there might still be someplace in me
left unclaimed

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

