love poems, too

I’m imagining a night
right now
where I couldn’t get there fast enough
if you hollered for me

so I’ll send this down the wire
like an old telegraph
made of pulses
and listen here
on the other end
alert and quiet

for the sound of the star I recognize

don’t sleep too long

******************

benevolence is a word I cannot stop hearing
gifts that are really gifts
and as soon as I tune my drum to it
the music never quits

******************

I will hold the gaze of my Love
the way a mother would hold the gaze of her child
as her wound was being stitched
because if it is not seen
it is less there.

We laugh when young children hide their eyes
and believe they can no longer be seen
but I wonder if they know a clever truth

that all we own are our own gates
and through them we make the world

******************

you make my heart beat
or should I say something more Gestalt

no,
you make my heart beat because you’ve shined your light
and I receive
and it beats

******************

be still
belly digest
warm cat
fingers buzz
heater chug and blow
pulse go

your every detail is the realm of my heart

******************

let’s meet here
come to my place
and make music
logs burning each other brighter
restoring the superhighway that goes
past every hangup
until we’re so full
only stillness can hold our high
and the world makes itself again
at our feet

******************

this last one out loud
because I want to feel the words in my mouth
when you speak them

your willing plaything

and the buzz moves to my lips.

this is the same realm
with a new door

better yet, tear down the house.

Leave a comment

Filed under lisa goettel, offerings, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

